European Union foreign ministers extended the list of persons to whom sanctions apply in connection with Russian aggression in Ukraine


At today's meeting of EU foreign ministers in Brussels, a decision was made to extend the circle of persons subject to restrictive measures in connection with threatening or damaging Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity.

The EU is imposing a visa ban and assets freeze on an additional 19 individuals and 9 organizations. The sanctions are being imposed against pro-Russian separatists in eastern Ukraine, as well as influential figures hailing from Russia. The decision shall enter into force on February 16.

Foreign Minister Keit Pentus-Rosimannus said that simultaneously yet another diplomatic effort initiated by German and French leaders is ongoing to find a solution to the situation brought about by Russia's aggression, but the decision to add individuals to the sanctions list was made by consensus nonetheless. “We have heard too many promises and empty promises from Putin's regime and these have not been followed by any actual improvements in Ukraine. Therefore, today's decision to supplement the list of persons restricted by sanctions was necessary,” Foreign Minister Keit Pentus-Rosimannus said. The sanctions list now includes 151 people and 37 organizations.

The EU’s current restrictive measures in response to the crisis in Ukraine:

More information:
Marika Post
Press Spokesperson, Permanent Representation of Estonia to the EU
+32 474 98 16 57

(+372) 637 7618


© Consulate General of Estonia in St Petersburg Bolshaya Monetnaya 14, 197101 St. Petersburg, tel. (7 812) 702 09 20,